How Not to Diet: The Groundbreaking Science of Healthy, Permanent Weight Loss [Audiobook]

How Not to Diet: The Groundbreaking Science of Healthy, Permanent Weight Loss [Audiobook]
How Not to Diet: The Groundbreaking Science of Healthy, Permanent Weight Loss [Audiobook] by Michael Greger MD FACLM, read by the Author
2019 | M4B@64 kbps + EPUB | 23h 42m | 645.89MB

Discover the cutting-edge science behind long-term weight loss success in this powerful new audiobook from the New York Times best-selling author of How Not to Die.

Every month seems to bring a trendy new diet or weight-loss fad - and yet obesity rates continue to rise and with it, a growing number of diseases and health problems. It's time for a different approach.

Enter Dr. Michael Greger, the internationally renowned nutrition expert, physician, and founder of Nutritionfacts.org. Author of the mega-best-selling How Not to Die, Dr. Greger now turns his attention to the latest research on the leading causes - and remedies - of obesity.

Dr. Greger hones in on the optimal criteria to enable weight loss, while considering how these foods actually affect our health and longevity. He lays out the key ingredients of the ideal weight-loss diet - factors such as calorie density, the insulin index, and the impact of foods on our gut microbiome - showing how plant-based eating is crucial to our success.

But How Not to Diet goes beyond food to identify 21 weight-loss accelerators available to our bodies, incorporating the latest discoveries in cutting-edge areas like chronobiology to reveal the factors that maximize our natural fat-burning capabilities. Dr. Greger builds the ultimate weight-loss guide from the ground up, taking a timeless, proactive approach that can stand up to any new trend.

Chock full of actionable advice and groundbreaking dietary research, How Not to Diet will put an end to dieting - and replace those constant weight-loss struggles with a simple, healthy, sustainable lifestyle.

Ayurveda and the Mind: The Healing of Consciousness [Audiobook]

Ayurveda and the Mind: The Healing of Consciousness [Audiobook]
Ayurveda and the Mind: The Healing of Consciousness [Audiobook] by Dr David Frawley, read by Paul Brion
2019 | MP3@64 kbps | 8h 33m | 235.12MB

Ayurveda and the Mind explores how to heal our minds on all levels, from the subconscious to the superconscious, along with the role of diet, impressions, mantra, meditation, and yoga in creating wholeness.

In this book, Dr. Frawley once again illuminates the practical applications of Ayurveda and yoga as applied to the mind. Through his clear exposition of the Vedic principles of consciousness and its expressions, a simple, yet profound approach to psychological and emotional healing is elucidated. This book reminds us that the mind is a subtle organ, whose health depends upon its ability to extract nourishment from the environment. If we have accumulated toxicity in the form of emotional wounds, frustrations, disappointments, or wrong beliefs, eliminating these impurities from our mental and emotional layers is essential, if we are to have true emotional and spiritual freedom.

The Year of No Nonsense: How to Get Over Yourself and On with Your Life [Audiobook]

The Year of No Nonsense: How to Get Over Yourself and On with Your Life [Audiobook]
The Year of No Nonsense: How to Get Over Yourself and On with Your Life [Audiobook] by Meredith Atwood, read by the Author
2019 | MP3@64 kbps + EPUB | 8h 22m | 231.18MB

In the vein of Girl, Wash Your Face and How to Stop Feeling Like Sh*t, a practical guide to acknowledging and getting rid of the nonsense and BS in your life

Exhausted and overworked lawyer, triathlete, wife, and mom Meredith Atwood decided one morning that she'd had it. She didn't take her kids to school. She didn't go to work. She didn't go to the gym. When she pulled herself out of bed hours later than she should have, she found a note from her husband next to two empty bottles of wine and a stack of unpaid bills: You need to get your sh*t together.

And that's what Meredith began to do, starting with identifying the nonsense in her life that was holding her back: saying "yes" too much, keeping frenemies around, and more. In The Year of No Nonsense, Atwood shares what she learned, tackling struggles with work, family, and body image, and also willpower and time management. Ultimately, she's the tough-as-nails coach /slash/ best friend who shares a practical plan for identifying and getting rid of your own nonsense in order to move forward and live an authentic, healthy life. From recognizing lies you believe about yourself and your abilities, to making a "nonsense" list and developing a "no nonsense blueprint," this audiobook walks you through reclaiming yourself with grit and determination, step by step.

With targeted, practical chapters to help you stop feeling stuck and get on with your life, The Year of No Nonsense is equal parts girlfriend and been-there-done-that. The best part? Like any friend, she helps you get to the other side.

Everyday Ubuntu: Living Better Together, the African Way [Audiobook]

Everyday Ubuntu: Living Better Together, the African Way [Audiobook]
Everyday Ubuntu: Living Better Together, the African Way [Audiobook] by Nompumelelo Mungi Ngomane, read by Nontombi Naomi Tutu
2019 | M4B@128 kbps | 6 hours | 327.5MB

Ubuntu is a Xhosa word originating from a South African philosophy that encapsulates all our aspirations about how to live life well, together. It is the belief in a universal human bond: I am only because you are.

And it means that if you are able to see everyone as fully human, connected to you by their humanity, you will never be able to treat others as disposable or without worth. By embracing the philosophy of Ubuntu and living it out in daily life it's possible to overcome division and be stronger together in a world where the wise build bridges, not walls.

These 14 lessons from the Rainbow Nation are an essential toolkit to helping us all to live better, together. In stories that recognise our common humanity, our connectedness and interdependence, Everyday Ubuntu helps to make sense of the world and our place in it.

Exploring ideas of kindness and forgiveness, tolerance and the power of listening, it shows how we can all benefit from embracing others. Including practical applications and mindful exercises, it is an inspirational guide to a more fulfilling life as part of the large family to which we all belong.

The Surprising Superpower: America’s Place on the World Stage and How It Got There [Audiobook]

The Surprising Superpower: America’s Place on the World Stage and How It Got There [Audiobook]
The Surprising Superpower: America’s Place on the World Stage and How It Got There [Audiobook] by Professor Robert K. Brigham
2019 | M4B@128 kbps | 9h 34m | 522.27MB

The great American experiment is one of the most remarkable achievements in the history of civilization. How did America transform from a scrappy collection of British colonies into a global superpower?

In 24 riveting lectures, acclaimed history professor and American foreign policy expert Robert K. Brigham, PhD leads you on a trek across the globe to explore the dramatic events that shaped America and the world.

Through vivid accounts and insightful analysis, Prof. Brigham shows you that America's ascent into world leadership was neither preordained nor accidental. Rather, from its very beginnings, American foreign policy has been central to the country's national identity. While the Founding Fathers used foreign relations to secure the young republic's political experiment, subsequent leaders have consistently wielded American power to ensure the country's prosperity and security.

As Prof. Brigham ably demonstrates, America's role on the world stage has rarely been uncomplicated. Americans have always debated their place in foreign affairs - their wars, their commitments, their interests - and challenged others' perception of the nation's power. In fact, few issues have divided policy makers and the American public more than US foreign policy.

Manhunters: How We Took Down Pablo Escobar [Audiobook]

Manhunters: How We Took Down Pablo Escobar [Audiobook]
Manhunters: How We Took Down Pablo Escobar [Audiobook] by Stephen E Murphy, Javier F Peña, read by Ramon de Ocampo, Rob Shapiro
2019 | MP3@64 kbps + EPUB | 8h 49m | 242.62MB

The explosive memoir of legendary DEA agents and the subjects of the hit Netflix series Narcos, Steve Murphy and Javier F. Peña.

In the decades they spent at the DEA, Javier Peña and Steve Murphy risked their lives hunting large and small drug traffickers. But their biggest challenge was the hunt for Pablo Escobar in Colombia. The partners, who began their careers as small-town cops, have been immortalised in Netflix's Narcos, a fictional account of their hunt for Escobar.

Now, for the first time ever, they tell the real story of how they brought down the world's first narco-terrorist, the challenges they faced, and the innovative strategies they employed to successfully end the reign of terror of the world's most wanted criminal.

Listeners will go deep inside the inner workings of the Search Bloc, the joint Colombian-US task force that resulted in an intensive 18-month operation that tracked Escobar. Between July 1992 and December 1993, Steve and Javier lived on the edge, setting up camp in Medellin at the Carlos Holguin Military Academy. There, they lived and worked with the Colombian authorities, hunting down a man who was thought by many to be untouchable. Their firsthand experience coupled with stories from the DEA's recently declassified files on the search for Escobar forms the beating heart of Manhunters, an epic account of how agents risked everything to capture the world's most wanted man.

The Economist Audio Edition [December 21, 2019]

The Economist Audio Edition [December 21, 2019]
The Economist Audio Edition [December 21, 2019]
MP3@56 kbps + EPUB + AZW3 | 10h 38m | 257.7MB

Holiday Double Issue: Pessimism v progress

  • Britain's new political geography
  • How to reduce homelessness
  • Boeing's bet backfires
  • Our country of the year
  • Technology and society: Pessimism v progress
  • Young people and the media: Seize the memes
  • Diplomacy in the Gulf: Making up is hard to do
  • Setting type: The age of mechanical reproduction as a work of art