Woodstock [The Smith Tapes: Collection #4]

Woodstock [The Smith Tapes: Collection #4]

Woodstock [The Smith Tapes: Collection #4]
2013 | ASIN: B00BLZLTQC | M4A | 4 hrs 24 mins | 505.77MB

Between 1969–1972, Howard Smith recorded interviews with scores of rock stars and cultural icons. As a Village Voice columnist and radio personality on WPLJ FM, Smith sat down for revealing, personal conversations with Eric Clapton, Andy Warhol, Jim Morrison, Buckminster Fuller, Janis Joplin, Jerry Garcia and Hugh Hefner, to name just a few. He interviewed John Lennon and Yoko Ono no less than five times, and called in live dispatches from his Winnebago parked stage-side at Woodstock. Smith was at the center of culture during an era of extraordinary transformation.

Smith kept the original interview reels, hundreds of them, buried in a crate in the back of his New York City loft, and they haven’t seen the light of day in over 40 years.

Last year the interviews were rediscovered and they are now being released on a collection of 12 albums. "Woodstock," the fourth album in the series, focuses on the famous music festival, including interviews with the creators of the event and the filmmakers who documented it, as well as Smith's own radio dispatches from the festival. Track listing for Woodstock:

  1. John and Yoko's Bed-In
  2. Woodstock Reports
  3. Woodstock, The Film
  4. Sly Stone
  5. Joe Cocker
  6. Ravi Shankar
  7. Artie Kornfeld
  8. Woodstock, Inc.