Voyager: Exploration, Space, and the Third Great Age of Discovery [EPUB]

Voyager: Exploration, Space, and the Third Great Age of Discovery [EPUB]
Voyager: Exploration, Space, and the Third Great Age of Discovery by Stephen J Pyne
2010 | EPUB | 0.8MB

A brilliant new account of the Voyager space program-its history, scientific impact, and cultural legacy

Launched in 1977, the two unmanned Voyager spacecraft have completed their Grand Tour to the four outer planets, and they are now on course to become the first man-made objects to exit our solar system. To many, this remarkable achievement is the culmination of a golden age of American planetary exploration, begun in the wake of the 1957 Sputnik launch. More than this, Voyager may be one of the purest expressions of exploration in human history.

For more than five hundred years the West has been powered by the impulse to explore, to push into a wider world. In this highly original book, Stephen Pyne recasts Voyager in the tradition of Magellan, Columbus, Cook, Lewis and Clark, and other landmark explorers. The Renaissance and Enlightenment-the First and Second Ages of Discovery- sent humans across continents and oceans to find new worlds. In the Third Age, expeditions have penetrated the Antarctic ice, reached the floors of the oceans, and traveled to the planets by new means, most spectacularly via semi-autonomous robot. Voyager probes how the themes of motive and reward are stunningly parallel through all three ages. Voyager, which gave us the first breathtaking images of Jupiter and Saturn, changed our sense of our own place in the universe.

Stories in the Stars: An Atlas of Constellations [EPUB]

Stories in the Stars: An Atlas of Constellations [EPUB]
Stories in the Stars: An Atlas of Constellations by Susanna Hislop
2014 | EPUB | 18.24MB

Look up: above us is a jet-black canvas pricked with white dots, and a carnival of animals, mythical creatures, gods and goddesses in its shining constellations.

Here, Susanna Hislop – writer and stargazer – and Hannah Waldron – international artist – leap between centuries, cultures and traditions to present a whole universe of stories in all their blazing glory.

Stories in the Stars is an imaginative and whimsical exploration of each of the night sky’s 88 constellations: a playful and stunningly illustrated compendium.

Black Holes: The Reith Lectures [EPUB]

Black Holes: The Reith Lectures [EPUB]
Black Holes: The Reith Lectures by Stephen Hawking
2016 | EPUB | 4.36MB

“It is said that fact is sometimes stranger than fiction, and nowhere is that more true than in the case of black holes. Black holes are stranger than anything dreamed up by science fiction writers.”

In 2016 Professor Stephen Hawking delivered the BBC Reith Lectures on a subject that has fascinated him for decades – black holes.

In these flagship lectures the legendary physicist argues that if we could only understand black holes and how they challenge the very nature of space and time, we could unlock the secrets of the universe.

pages: 04 05 06 07 08 09 10 11 12 13 14
*10: 10 20 30